History

Historical Background

Started as a Congregational Bible School by the Rev. Samuel E. Lynd of the Home Missionary Society, about 35 members met at a bungalow at Portland and 3rd Streets. They soon chose to become The First Congregational Church of Phoenix, Arizona, June 25, 1917, and bought land nearby. By 1919, the Parish House was built; the basic present sanctuary was built in 1942; and the entire campus completed in 1968. The name was changed to the First Congregational United Church of Christ of Phoenix, Arizona, in 1960, when we joined the UCC.

Since in the 1950’s and 1960’s Phoenix, still small, had little in cultural activities, the church’s offerings of Book Reviews, Town Meetings, and Seminars attracted city-wide crowds, as did our Annual Smorgasbord. Our annual Thanksgiving Day Service, conducted like a Pilgrim meeting, featured boys “drumming in” parishioners to be greeted by a costumed Pilgrim family. This event has been held every year since 1960. Another modern-day activity is our monthly winter and spring Concert in the Courtyard series, featuring musical programs.

Please check our Historical Timeline below to discover more about the history of First Church UCC and the United Church of Christ.

First Church UCC

1407 N Second Street
PhoenixAZ 85004
 (602) 258-6891
 |  | 
 Contact Us

Service Times

Sundays at 10:30 a.m.
with Pastor James Pennington

Office Hours
Mon - Fri: 9:00 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Closed Saturday & Sunday